The Old Working Smithy & Museum - Gunnerside
The Old Working Smithy & Museum at Gunnerside ©Stephen Calvert


The Smithy was established in 1795 at the bottom of Gunnerside Ghyll and displays an interesting collection of objects amassed over the years.

All the artifacts on display are from the Smithy itself - nothing has been brought in. Cartwheels were made by local joiners and hooped here by the blacksmith. Horses were used on farms until the 1950s and horse shoes were a mainstay for the blacksmith.
Cartwheels on display at The Old Working Smithy in Gunnerside ©Stephen Calvert
Stephen Calvert at work in The Old Smithy, Gunnerside ©Stephen Calvert Stephen Calvert, shown at work in the Smithy, is the sixth generation of blacksmiths in the Calvert family to work at Gunnerside.

Ledgers (day books) have been kept by the blacksmiths continuously since 1840 and extracts from these are displayed where possible.
Lead mining has played a vital role in Dales' life for centuries. This tub, from the Brandy Bottle mine, was last used over 100 years ago. Miners tub from the Brandy Bottle mine ©Stephen Calvert
Fire hearth and cooking utensils at The Old Working Smithy, Gunnerside ©Stephen Calvert

This collection of cooking utensils around the fire hearth are all blacksmith-made.

Various items are available for purchase in the Smithy's shop and Stephen is happy to undertake commissions if you want something unique.


The Old Working Smithy & Museum
Gunnerside, DL11 6LE

Telephone 01748 886577

Open
11am till 5pm
Easter until the end of October

Closed on Mondays

Admission
£2.50 adults
£1.50 children 5-16 years
Under 5s Free

Dsiplay at The Old Smithy & Museum, Gunnerside  ©Stephen Calvert
   
Return Top of Page